Less of Me – Literally 

For fifteen years I have been on a weight-reducing, healthy-choosing, activity-increasing, life-extending journey. 

My wake-up call began with a visit to my doctor and the diagnosis of diabetes. I reacted with denial first, resentment second and finally fear. I was astounded by my weight. 

I was in a terrible state of mind, let me tell you. And for the record, I was not a person who fantasized about food. I did however find comfort in food. Mostly, I just didn’t have time to think about it, or so I thought. 

I was physically and emotionally tired. By that time we had been fostering for over a decade. I had experienced more heart-ache and loss than I like to admit to even now. I had been traumatized and I was worn out. So, I ate what was easy and inexpensive and convenient. That’s the simple truth. 

Besides the diabetes I also had developed an enlarged liver (the non-alcoholic sort) and various other ailments that seemed to declare that any efforts to change now would be too little and too late. Still, I determine in my heart to try. 

I would seem to do really well for a while and then fall back into old habits or hit a plateau with the weight loss that would discourage me. But today, I stopped to consider where I was and how far I have come. I have certainly not arrived, I have many more pounds to lose and many more health issues to address. But I’ve come a long way baby! 

I almost didn’t write this blog for several reasons. For one thing, I didn’t want to sound bragadocious (a word of my own invention). For another, I still have so far to go. And finally because it’s personal to me, a private matter. You know?

But anyway, I decided to go ahead and write this because I am SO THANKFUL and maybe I could encourage another struggling soul. 

If you feel like it’s just too little and too late to change your lifestyle, let me assure you, it is NOT. You can start fresh today and again tomorrow if need be. 

This morning when I weighed I had broken a plateau that had roadblocked me for several years. I just never seemed to be able to get past that point. I’d give up. I’d try again. I’d gain a few pounds back. I’d try again. I’d get frustrated. I’d try again. 

And so, today, I can celebrate that 68 lbs of unnecessary weight is gone. It took a long time and I’m still losing more, but hey, 68lbs is worth mentioning and celebrating. 

I wore size 22/24 and now I’m fitting into size 14. I’ve been able to come off blood pressure meds and have greatly reduced my diabetes meds and my liver has returned to normal size. I am healthier than I’ve been in decades. 

I hope you’re taking good care of yourself, eating right, exercising properly, resting enough. But if you aren’t, you CAN change that. It may not be instant results, but the results will come. #takecourage 

12 thoughts on “Less of Me – Literally ”

  1. I think it’s difficult to keep the pounds off in the South. Your food is too amazingly tasty. 🙂 One habit that helps me is to drink more water AND walk away from something I REALLY want to eat. I just tell myself, “I’ll eat it next time.” Usually the next time I say the same thing. I’m not denying myself, I’m just delaying the enjoyment. Keep on keeping on. You’ll get there. 🙂

  2. Stephanie, you look great. How in the world did you do it? I just have no will power. I really need to loose 30-40 pounds but just can’t stop eating.

    1. Slowly, one decision at a time, one day at a time. And some days, I blew it.
      I think one thing is I didn’t eat to lose weight, I ate to stabilize my blood sugar. That of course meant curbing carbs. I try to have only one carb serving with each meal and an afternoon snack. One serving is 15 grams.

Leave a Reply

