Pinch Me

So excited to share my friend’s very first blog from the Mercy Ship. She’s really there, really making a difference, really touching lives, really reminding us that #dreamsreallydocometrue

Brenda Braxton

mercy-ships-nurses-2

For years I’ve thought about it, dreamed about it, prayed about it, and planned for it. I’ve gazed at pictures online of crew members standing in front of the ship and wondered if I would ever be one of them. And now there I am, in a picture of a group of nurses standing on the dock in front of the Africa Mercy! Pinch me. Is this real?

I wasn’t so naïve that I thought this would be glamorous. I knew there would be difficulties, and there are: cramped living quarters, limited food choices, missing my family, and an illness that landed me two nights in my own hospital. I knew it would be hard, and it is: working various shifts, doing things I’ve never done before, the difficulty of sleeping through “ship noises”, stairs, stairs, and more stairs.

But the positives far outweigh the negatives! There are people here…

View original post 329 more words

2 thoughts on “Pinch Me”

Leave a Reply

