My Magical World

This weekend I had the opportunity to participate in a local author’s event. There were 27 authors present to display, discuss, sell and sign their books. It was great fun and very encouraging. I met so many lovely people. I bought some books, I traded some books, I gave away some books. I didn’t sell a single book. 

So, what’s the point? Why attend these events when often, not many books are sold? Well, let me tell you why I think it is worth every box packed, table set up, and mile traveled. 

There is great advantage to coming together with like-minded folks that goes way beyond book sales. As the old saying goes ‘birds of a feather flock together’ and that’s true. 

When you step into a writer’s conference or an author event it is much like Harry Potter walking into Diagon Alley for the first time. At first you are in a bit of shock. Then you are filled with delight as you realize there are people just like you! 


You hear them discussing their magic wands, I mean blogs and Twitter. You see them exchanging spells, I mean contacts and business cards. You share your experiences and learn from those who have gone before you. 

I can’t guarantee you will become rich or famous at author events, conferences and book-signings but I can assure you, you’ll leave inspired and encouraged if you’ll just open your eyes and ears. There will be amazing people, common interests, practical help and opportunities to grow. 


I think many writers tend to be just like me, introverted. We’d rather stay at home where we can read and write and create our worlds, weave our words and do what we love. If that’s you, let me urge you to take yourself, your writing and your smile to the next writer’s event you hear about. You won’t regret it. 

This weekend I made new friends and left a better writer than when I arrived. I was also very pleased to take my middle son with me and expose him to this ‘magical world’ that I now claim as my own. He and my girls (15,16,16) will be writing their first books this year as their 11th grade homeschool project. I’m thrilled to take them by the hand and say, “Let me show you the way.”

7 thoughts on “My Magical World”

  1. It was so nice to meet you and your handsome son! I thoroughly enjoyed myself and so wish I could have bought a book from every single author! Good luck and keep plugging away.
    🙂 gwingal

Leave a Reply

