Fleece in the Grease

I am so happy to share this blog once again. It is one of my favorites and it has been four years since I first wrote it.
Here is what I want to say to you this morning as you read these words. Don’t give up. Don’t give up on the relationship that seems so difficult. Don’t give up on the dream that seems unreachable. Don’t give up on yourself when you have let yourself down. Don’t give up. It’s a process, just like fleece in the grease.

Stephanie Rodda

Fiber Art has captured my heart. Only a few years ago I was just learning to crochet my first dish cloth. The more I learned the more I wanted to know. I had Fiber Fever! Soon on my wish list was a Spinning Wheel and eventually I found myself in possession of a real, unwashed, stinky, trash embedded Fleece in the Grease! A friend who serves as a missionary in New Mexico graciously shipped it to me, right after shearing.

I was stunned by the state of this fleece. I truly thought I was prepared. I wasn’t. But, there it was, mine to process, so, there was nothing to do but begin. I would redeem it. I would wash it. I would transform it. At the end of the process I would use it for my purpose. After all, I had seen such a thing done before. Not with wool…

View original post 511 more words

Leave a Reply

