Do You Love Them the Same?

This is one of the most heart-felt, soul-bearing, forth-right pieces I have ever written concerning adoption and the magnificent love that I feel towards my children.

Read it, ponder it, enjoy it and share it.

Stephanie Rodda

One of the most common questions about adoption is will I be able to love them the same? The implied but often unspoken completion of the inquiry is ‘the same as a child you have birthed’.

When I thought of writing about this subject I hesitated. I said out loud to myself, “Easy, Stephanie.”. This is after all, a tender subject. As a mom who never completed a birthing experience I may be a bit one-sided. I won’t argue that point. There are plenty of moms who have experienced both who can speak from their own experiences. I can only speak from mine.

Rather than try to do what I can’t, I will stick to what I know. I will share what it is like to love a child who wasn’t carried in my womb, a child born to a different woman with a different ethnicity, a different medical and…

View original post 1,018 more words

Leave a Reply

