This Week

This morning I’m contemplating my new coffee mug as I enjoy the hot concoction within it. On one side it says 15 years and on the other side it says –

Know God

Find Freedom

Discover Purpose

Make a Difference

Our church passed these out to us yesterday at their 15th anniversary. Church of the Highlands has been a tremendous blessing to our family. We have enjoyed the powerful teaching and participated in the many outreaches. We’ve found racial diversity, a rarity in the south. We’ve found ways to grow, connect and serve. We were glad to celebrate with them yesterday. 

But back to the coffee mug. As I consider the list imprinted on its side I’ve decided to take the words as a challenge. 

KNOW GOD 

This week, no matter how busy it is, and it promises to be a doozy, I will spend time with God first. I will read a small portion of the Bible. I will spend time in prayer. I will actively look for Him in my days, in my corner of the world. I know I will find Him there. I will seek Him out. I will search for Him. I will listen for His voice and respond eagerly. 

FIND FREEDOM

This week, I’m going to actively pursue freedom. I’m going to be swift to act when worry or dread attempts to slip into my thoughts. I’m going to be generous with forgiveness this week. I’m going to pour it out on others and myself as I am receiving it so graciously from the Lord. I’m going to leave the slave quarters of my mind where my stash of regrets and guilt and offenses dwell. I’m choosing freedom. I’m going to carry around a proverbial Debt Canceled stamp and apply liberally. 

DISCOVER PURPOSE

If we are spending our days just making it through them we are missing out on some of the best moments of life. Our days are numbered and we have a purpose. This week, I’m going to live on purpose. I’m going to rest on purpose. I’m going to eat on purpose. I’m going to exercise on purpose.  I’m going to write on purpose. I’m going to pray on purpose. I’m going to speak on purpose. Otherwise, well, what’s the purpose? 

MAKE A DIFFERENCE

Now we get to the real crux of the matter. The result of the other three is this. This is where we arrive when we KNOW GOD, FIND FREEDOM and DISCOVER PURPOSE. This is why we spend time in prayer and extend forgiveness and rest on purpose. This is why we read Scripture and refuse worry and live on purpose. So we can make a difference. 

This week I will do my best to make a difference in the lives of those I love. I will anticipate eagerly the opportunity to make a difference in the lives of those I don’t know. I will do my best to lighten the heavy load of another struggling mother. I will write words that encourage and inspire. I will avoid criticizing others and feeling obligated to fix others. Instead, I will do my best to make a difference. 

“Whenever you possibly can, do good to those who need it.” Proverbs 3:27 

  

Leave a Reply

