Only in My Dreams

If all goes as planned, my next blog entry, in just a few days, will be to announce that my very first fictional novel has been published and available. This will be a dream come true for me. I think I’ve been holding my breath in anticipation. I am pretty sure that I’m totally terrified, which is not my nature. I certainly have no doubt of this, I am leaving my comfort zone and stepping into new territory, for me that is. Oh the vulnerability. 

I know others HAVE gone before me. I am thankful to know that. I have gleaned much knowledge from their experiences, made lasting friendships and taken courage from their efforts and successes. But, my knees are trembling as I consider this thing that I am doing. 

On the other hand, I am giddy with excitement and expectation. As soon as I could write I have been writing. But, it was for my pleasure, it was unedited, it was random, it was undisciplined. Kind of like me. 

Two and a half years ago, that began to change as I attended my very first writer’s conference and had my first glimpse of this magical world that had previously only existed in my dreams, or so I thought. Every where I looked there were people trying to do exactly what I wanted to do. They spoke their own language, some of which I did not understand. There were terms I’d never heard and discussions I could not comprehend. My brain was stretched, my heart was captured. I knew this, it was time to begin, in earnest, to begin again. And so I did. 

I think I thought I might be ‘discovered’ while I was there, the first time. I really didn’t know what to expect after all. But, instead of someone discovering me, I discovered other people.

There were people at every stage of the journey. There were traditionally published authors, self-published authors, poets, screenwriters, editors, literary agents, acquisitions editors, and lots of folks just like me who had dreams and ideas and wondered what to do next. 

One of my favorite C.S.Lewis quotes is from the Four Loves. 

Friendship is born at that moment when one man says to another: “What! You too?”

What an eye-opening experience that first conference was and I’ve attended several since then always growing closer to achieving my dream of having a published book. 

Here is what I want to leave you with, as we are approaching the end of 2015 and the beginning of a brand new year, pursue your dreams. Decide this is the year that you will begin again, in earnest. Write that story, travel to that place, compose that song, paint that picture, adopt that child, marry that man, get that degree, climb that mountain. 

Look, here’s the bottom line. If you don’t take your dream and yourself seriously, who will? Take a chance, just the very next step and maybe you will catch a glimpse, as I did, of a magical world that only existed in your dreams, or so you thought. 

  

Leave a Reply

