Living and Loving Large

Here at our little homestead, love is in the air and I’m glad because in the end, love always wins. I say that a lot because I believe it a lot. 
Both of my oldest sons have declared their love and their intended in the short span of a few weeks. Jesse was the first to grow our family by giving us our first daughter-in-law and their special day in July was sweet, intimate, unpretentious and perfect. 
    

  

From their first date 3 1/2 years ago to their first month of marriage, it has been a journey of young love with a few detours and u-turns. In the end however, love always wins, it really does. 

  
This month Josiah has proposed to his intended and declared his love. Our family will be growing again as a result. We are in fact multiplying and increasing, not only in size but in love. This #xlfamily will continue to grow because of the miracle of love. 

  
  

One of the most intriguing parts of being a #momofmany has been observing and celebrating the unique personalities of each child. Each member of our family brings their own giftings, talents and strengths. They are different. They enjoy different things. They struggle with different things. They dream different dreams and have different goals. Sometimes there will be conflicts or head butting going on. I know all about this as I am a chief head butting champion.  
But, when I occasionally glance around me and am startled by the enormity of such a family or when I occasionally am caught off balance a bit with all the changes taking place, I remind myself of how I longed for these days. These very days, when my home and my heart and my life would be overrun by children and family and love. 
I’m living my dream. Albeit a sometimes chaotic, loud, hectic, dream that wears me out, it is my dream to live large and love large. I’m living my dream and I am glad. 
So, welcome to our newest Rodda, Lauren and welcome to the next Rodda-to-be, Mikayla . I pledge to love you as best as I can and celebrate your unique gifts and talents. I promise to do all I can to support your loving relationships with my sons. I promise to pray for you, cheer you own and celebrate your victories. 
I’m very new in this roll as a mother-in-law and in many ways I feel like I’ve slipped into brand new shoes that are yet a bit uncomfortable. I may need a little time to learn how to walk this new path, break in these new shoes and get used to this new dance, but I will. Then together, we will celebrate this splendid thing called love. Because, of course, in the end, love wins. 

  

2 thoughts on “Living and Loving Large”

Leave a Reply

