Baby Pictures

Four of our seven children have no baby pictures. It wasn’t that we had them and lost them due to a fire or tornado or flood. We never had any. I imagine someone did at some point. Perhaps a birth relative or former foster parent does somewhere along the line. But, we don’t and I often wish we did. 

Girls, being, well, girls, seemed to be more aware of this loss and more sensitive concerning it. So, I mentioned to my 14yo who has recently taken up drawing that she should try to draw what she thought she looked like as a baby. She took my words to heart and today showed me her drawing. 

For a first attempt and a untrained young artist, I’m impressed with her effort. I think she truly captured her eyes. I love the lambs on the romper play-suit. The hair is noteworthy. But, more than all of that, I am so touched that she worked hard to fill a gap from her childhood and make herself a baby picture. I’m going to ask her to frame it and give it to me for Mother’s Day. I will treasure it and learn a valuable lesson. 

Whatever it is that is missing from your life, making you feel less than complete, God will give you the ability to fill the gaps if you will allow Him to show you a new way of seeing things. Don’t accept that how things are is how they must always be. Take a chance, make an effort, try again. And, if need be, draw your own baby picture. 
  

2 thoughts on “Baby Pictures”

  1. She did a beautiful drawing of her “baby” self! She touched my heart with her essence, that she drew. So very beautiful!

Leave a Reply

