Inspired

What inspires you? What gives you the strength to try one more time? What gives you the courage to keep pursuing your dream?

Is it a person? A past experience? Your faith? Music? Scripture? 

Whom do you inspire? With whom have you shared insight? Which person do you share your courage with by encouraging them?

Is is a family member? A friend? A coworker? A student? A child?

  

As for me, I’ve got quite a list of inspiring folks to mention. 

Some I’ve never met but, I’ve read their words that have outlived them. 

  

Then, there are my children of course. They are a constant source of inspiration. Their innocent faith when they pray inspires me to believe without doubting. 

There are countless women in my life that inspire me. My grandmother who faced hardships and held tight to her faith through it all. My mom who is an excellent example of physical discipline, taking care of her body. My mother-in-law who survived illness that threatened her life and thrives today. My sisters, my friends, my heart daughters often inspire me with their encouraging words. 

I must not fail to mention the Word of a God. Oh the many moments I have turned to the Bible for inspiration and never once failed to find it there. 

“All Scripture is inspired by God and is useful to teach us what is true and to make us realize what is wrong in our lives. It corrects us when we are wrong and teaches us to do what is right.”  2 Timothy‬ ‭3‬:‭16‬ NLT

There are certainly days when I misplace my inspiration and instead slip into drudgery and dread. How about you? Are you facing days in this season when it feels as if the sun will never break through the gloomy clouds that seem to hang above your best efforts. 

I have discovered a truth about discouragement. When I feel it creeping upon me, I begin to look for another heavy heart. Instead of commiserating about the woes of the world and multiplying the gloom, I do what I can to lift their spirits. Almost immediately, I find my own spirits are up as well. It’s this wonderful spiritual law. We give joy and courage and then we harvest  joy and courage. 

“Feed the hungry, and help those in trouble. Then your light will shine out from the darkness, and the darkness around you will be as bright as noon. The LORD will guide you continually, giving you water when you are dry and restoring your strength. You will be like a well-watered garden, like an ever-flowing spring.” Isaiah‬ ‭58‬:‭10-11‬ NLT

Be the inspiration that you need! Invest into another weary soul when you yourself are weary. Give out of your own need and watch God supply yours. Be the light in a dark place that someone else travels and you’ll find you will also keep yourself from stumbling. 

Leave a Reply

