Until it Hurts

This morning I read a post that I made on FaceBook three years ago. Here is what it said.

Today I am hoping to smile until my cheeks hurt.
I am hoping to laugh until my sides hurt.
I am hoping to practice humility until my pride hurts.
I am hoping to pray until my knees hurt.
I am hoping to love until my heart hurts.
I am hoping to take a stand for what is right until my feet hurt.
And then, I will give my hurts to the Lord, sleep in sweet slumber and start all over again tomorrow.
I love a good plan!

I found myself nodding my head in agreement as I read my own words. This is how I want to live and living this way hurts a bit. I know you know what I mean.

In order to smile until my cheeks hurt, I may have to grin and bear it at times. When the refrigerator goes out or I have to explain the very same mathematics concept for the millionth time.

In order to laugh until my sides hurt, I may have to look for the humor in the chaos that happens as regularly as clockwork. I might as well giggle even if I have to cry before I do so.

In order to practice humility until my pride hurts, I may have to be willing to ask forgiveness when I’m wrong and be satisfied with not having the last word in every argument.

In order to pray until my knees hurt, I may have to stop my fretting and worrying for a while. I will have to let go of what I’m trying so desperately to fix and trust God to do what I can’t.

In order to love until my heart hurts, I may have to put others first and give the benefit of the doubt to those I do love. I will have to accept that vulnerability is a part of extravagant love.

In order to take a stand for what is right until my feet hurt, I may have to stand alone at times. I may have to take the road less traveled and refuse stubbornly to step aside when it really matters.

And then…

I’ll surely have my share of hurts. It is the way of life and love and laughter. But, I don’t have to keep them. My Lord, my sweet Jesus is truly willing to take them. He will unburden my shoulders and give me that sweet rest that I need so badly. After all, tomorrow will come and there will be new opportunities to pour ourselves out into the lives of hurting and wounded people. Tomorrow will come and give us more opportunities to invest into others. Tomorrow will come and give us more opportunities to laugh and pray. Tomorrow will come and give us more opportunities to practice humility and take a stand that makes a difference. Tomorrow will come and we can do it again, even when it hurts.

Leave a Reply

