Great Divide (Ch15 excerpt)

Posting this in participation with a blog hop. Christian Fiction Friday.

This is a portion of a chapter from my fictional work in progress that I hope to publish very soon. In this story, disaster has struck and a family must make adjustments to survive the stress of being separated from each other for a season. Throughout the tale of crisis and hard times, I worked hard to interweave moments of comedic chaos. Just like real life, even in the hard times, a smile, a laugh, will help us catch our breath and press on. Enjoy!

A cheerful heart is good medicine, but a broken spirit saps a person’s strength. (Proverbs 17:22 NLT)

*************************

“We’re down to the mystery packages,” I announced. I plopped them down on the butcher-block worktable. “Wonder what is in them?”

“What I’m wondering is why did we wait until now to look.” Granny raised an eyebrow as she turned one of the packages over in her hand.

“That’s a good question to which I have no good answer.” I grinned in reply with a twinkle in my eye. “Should we play a guessing game and see who comes closest.”

Granny chuckled as I called the four children over to join in the fun. “Before us lie four mysterious packages! Anything could be in them, anything in the whole wide world!” Their eyes widened in wonder as they listened attentively. “Furthermore there will be prizes for the best guessers!”

I went to the pantry and pulled out four Blow Pop Suckers. The game was on! Each of us declared our thoughts on the subject. The final answers were: Popsicles, Ice Cream, Fruitcake (Granny’s guess), Pizza, Frozen Waffles and Cold Hard Cash (my guess). Imagine our surprise when we discovered two raccoon tails, and apparently pelts of squirrels and beavers.

I squealed and danced a little jig as the furry items fell onto the table, much to the boy’s delight. Granny laughed until tears fell onto her cheeks. All of the commotion then led to a barking frenzy from the dogs who thought we must be in some sort of mortal danger. My quick retreat from the table knocked one of the raccoon tails onto the floor. Aslan grabbed it and ran. At nearly 100 lbs, running through the house could only lead to disaster. Jasper was not to be easily beaten and being the Jack Russell that he most surely was, he grabbed hold of the part of the tail that was hanging out of Aslan’s mouth and held on for all he was worth. Aslan began to shake his head vigorously and still Jasper held firm. Gypsy was beside herself as she was certain it was her job to round up everyone and bring back some order to the chaos being the herding dog that she was.

All I knew was my end table had been upset and a lamp dangled precariously by its cord while a chair had been knocked sideways. It could only get worse. Out of desperation I opened the front door wide to usher the out of control dogs into the yard. As I did, I came face to face with a tall and distinguished looking man. I don’t know who was more surprised, him, me or the dogs. The raccoon tail was dropped and I slammed the door as quickly as I had opened it.

***************************

I’d appreciate your thoughts and insights from this teaser. Are you intrigued? Was it easy to read? We’re you drawn into the action? Could you see it? Thanks for sharing.

2 thoughts on “Great Divide (Ch15 excerpt)”

Leave a Reply

