Masterpiece

During the wee hours of the morning, I had one of those ‘wake up and figure out the world’ moments. Well, close to an hour of those moments. I pondered and I prayed. I studied a bit and as I did I came across this passage.

For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago. Ephesians 2:10

A masterpiece is a great work. A masterpiece is a person’s greatest work. A masterpiece of God has to be the greatest of the greatest, after all, He is God. We are GOD’S masterpiece?! Us? Me and you? That’s hard to for me to grasp.

I often don’t feel like I would imagine a masterpiece would feel. I often don’t act like I am sure a masterpiece would act. I often don’t look like I am convinced a masterpiece would look. I often don’t sound like I expect a masterpiece would sound. But, there it is in black and white, in the Scriptures I hold so dear. We (that includes you and me) are God’s masterpiece. Amazing.

Other translations use workmanship or handiwork. However expressed, the truth is clear. He created us. He created us in Christ and He did so with a purpose in mind.

Discovering what that purpose is results in the journey of a lifetime and great adventures that change the world around us. We should be compelled by our love for Jesus Christ to help the hurting, right wrongs, rescue the perishing, bind up the wounded, encourage the discouraged, help the helpless, speak up for those who can not speak up for themselves.

These are good things, good works. But, they are not our good works. They are His good works. We are His workmanship and we do the good works that He planned long ago for us to do.

When we do what we were created to do, the result is contentment. When we do our own works, even good works, the result is dis-contentment. When we rely only on our own strength, we grow weary. When we rely only on our own understanding, we grow confused.

Today as we face a new week where we will stand at many #crossroads and make many choices of how we spend our time and energy, #ponderthis –

You were created (GOD’S workmanship) to do the good works that He planned long ago. Find that purpose, choose that path and make a difference. #masterpiece

Leave a Reply

