Even the Hairs

I think it’s only right I have curly hair and I’ll tell you why. You might even go as far as to say my hair has taught me a few life lessons. I hope this list makes you grin and think thoughts you wouldn’t have otherwise.

1 – Avoid comparison. My hair is never going to be just like anyone else’s. I am only going to be left frustrated and disappointed if I insist it must measure up to a magazine style or my friend’s.

2 – Avoid burn out. My hair can be made straight. I can even make it purple. But, the more I make it do contrary to its natural state, the more chance of burn out. Every once in a while, I need to let it rest!

3 – Avoid denial. My hair is never going to be long, silky tresses as thick and straight as a horses tail. When I come to grips with the facts of what is, I can stop fretting about what isn’t.

4 – Avoid the frizzies. Curls are one thing. Frizzy frazzled hair (and people) are another. Soothe yourself (and your hair) as needed with intentional pampering.

5 – Avoid dead ends. Honestly, they will lead you no where. You’ll feel trapped and tangled up. Go ahead and do some trimming (or pruning). Cut away the splits, the damaged and allow room for fresh growth.

6 – Avoid emotional decisions. These almost always lead to regret. Before you do what may take a long while to undo, think it over.

7 – Avoid weigh downs. Hey, too much of a good thing can be a very bad thing. That gel can be over-done and you my friend can be over-whelmed if you are constantly adding just one more thing.

8 – Avoid assumptions. The thing about curly hair is you just never know from one day to the next which way the curl will twist and turn.

9 – Avoid stiffness. Loosen up. Learn to be flexible and go with the flow. Enjoy the moment. It’s okay to have a curl out of place. Pretend you meant for it to do that in the first place.

10 – Avoid narrow-mindedness. Get a hand mirror and look at things from a new angle. Doesn’t hurt to have a good friend’s perspective either. They may see things you can’t. Trust them.

“But even the hairs of your head are all numbered.”
(Matthew 10:30)

20140204-092728.jpg

2 thoughts on “Even the Hairs”

Leave a Reply

