Shadow Boxing

Pondering this passage from 1 Corinthians this morning.

“So I run with purpose in every step. I am not just shadowboxing. I discipline my body like an athlete, training it to do what it should. Otherwise, I fear that after preaching to others I myself might be disqualified.”
1 Corinthians 9:26,27 NLT

We are all doing plenty of running, running here and there trying to keep a step ahead of the busy-ness of life. But, are we running with purpose? Are we being intentional with our steps and energy and words and thoughts? Check out the way this translation words it.

“Therefore I do not run like someone running aimlessly; I do not fight like a boxer beating the air.”
1 Corinthians 9:26 NIV

That’s the kind of life that wears us out!! Aimlessly beating the air! I have definitely felt exactly like that at times. Feeling as if everything I’m trying so hard to do is pointless.

This is when I must sit down and reevaluate my PURPOSE, develop a workable plan and be INTENTIONAL about it. That is going to require DISCIPLINE. It won’t be easy. It will be worth it.

I don’t want to spend my allotted days shadow boxing. I certainly don’t want to arrive at the end of my race and find I have been disqualified because I strayed off course.

So, I will begin again and do so as often as is necessary to meet my goals, minister to hurting hearts, raise my children and make a difference in this world that is so obviously doing a lot of shadow boxing of their own.

Leave a Reply

