There is Coming a Day

There is Coming a Day

Are you familiar with the old hymn, “There is Coming a Day”? I am. I have been thinking about it a lot the last couple of days. One of the verses includes these words written by Jim Hill and made popular in the 60’s in Southern Gospel.

“There’ll be no sorrow there,
No more burdens to bear,
No more sickness, no pain,
No more parting over there;”

‘He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death’ or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.” (Revelation 21:4 NIV)

There is coming a day, I believe that, I truly do. But, that day is not today. Today we still face sorrow, despair, pain, sickness, disease, burdens, troubles and yes, there are plenty of tears. The last few days have been a stark reminder of this fact as a family we know and love have suddenly and tragically lost their son of 17. The night it happened I could not sleep; I could barely breathe. I prayed and cried and read my Bible until I was too exhausted to do anything else but lie in the dark. Tears still slipped down my cheeks as I tried to squeeze them back. I could not bear the thought of the enormous pain that my friend must be feeling.

I would have to tell my sons the next morning that they were parted from their friend. The looks of unbelief on their faces, the sobs, the questions, the shock will be etched in my memory for many years until perhaps the waves and weather of time lessen their raw edges and fade the imprint they have left.

I would attend a service at our church where we would gather together and share the grief that had barged into our lives unwelcome and uninvited. I would be firmly reminded of the great blessing of a Christian Body that has learned to work together during time of crisis, during terrible times just like this. There would be a message of encouragement, an abundance of wordless hugs and more tears. And yet, no matter how our hearts ached, we knew full well it was nothing at all compared to what our friends must feel.

They do not face this great loss alone. They are surrounded by a supportive and loving family. They are undergirded by a caring and ministering church body. They have friends. They have community. They have each other. While all of this is wonderful and while I know they are so thankful, if that is all they had it would still not be enough to face the days ahead. They do have enough, however, because they know that what man can never do even with the best of intentions and abilities, God can do. He is able. He is enough. God is enough.

I don’t know what you may be facing today or what I may face tomorrow or next week or next year. What I do know is I don’t want to face it alone. I know none of us have to. When the burdens of our lives are too heavy, when we are reminded that our load is too much, that we are not enough, we can choose to accept the comfort, strength and help the Lord offers.

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. (Matthew 11:28, 29 NIV)

It is that rest that we long for and so desperately need during the most fierce of battles. It is that rest that is sought by those struggling with addictions, broken marriages, shattered dreams, crushed hopes and wounded hearts. It is that rest that Jesus offers to us every day and even days like this.

“Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God.” (2 Corinthians 1:3, 4 NIV)

Leave a Reply

