Real Bread – The Adventure

Real Bread

Not so many years ago, I was trying to talk myself into buying ‘wheat’ bread instead of the packaged white bread at the grocery store. Eventually I ventured further and bought a bread machine and a box of mix at the grocery store. I was very happy to be making bread at home! I was sure I was on my way to a modern day prairie girl. Little did I know what I had started and just how far I would go on this journey I had begun. Prairie girl indeed!

The next step was no more boxed mixes and with some good fortune at the thrift store, a total of three bread machines. After all, we are an XL Family. Soon, 5 lb bags of white flour just wouldn’t do and I began buying 25lb sacks at the warehouse store.

I suppose you won’t be surprised to hear that the day came when I began to consider milling my own flour. Ever notice how these kinds of things sneak up on you and all of the sudden you find yourself doing things you never thought you’d be doing?

We started with the Wonder Mill. We studied grains. We had homeschool unit studies on it. We cranked until our arms were sore. We bought the Wonder Mill Jr. which is electric and produces flour at lightening speed.

That isn’t the end of the story, but it’s far enough along to say this. We were hooked! There was no going back. We began to see improvements in health and skin and even behavior. My blood sugar levels started to stabilize. I began to lose weight as odd as that might seem, it is the truth.

If you are interested in more info about what ‘real bread’ can do for you, I highly suggest this article.

http://info.breadbeckers.com/

This company, Breadbeckers, is family owned and operated. I highly recommend them for equipment and grain purchases.

Now, don’t freak out or stretch your eyes wide – as Bilbo told Frodo, ”

“It’s a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to.”
J.R.R. Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings

And to add to the lure of new adventures, feast your eyes on this.

20130721-194706.jpg

20130721-194717.jpg

20130721-194741.jpg

3 thoughts on “Real Bread – The Adventure”

  1. Yum, yum ,yum, yum, yum…. One of my gifts to myself this summer was taking cooking classes with our local food coop. Today I took one on flat breads…tortillas, naan, pita. I’ve done flour tortillas before but not the others. Great fun and really nice to have the skill to make something healthy from a few ingredients.

Leave a Reply

