Painting with Words

Write it down, you won’t regret it. Record your thoughts and ramblings, your worries and celebrations. Pour out your emotions into words that paint a picture. Even if you are not a writer, it does the heart good.

I discovered this from my journal from two years ago. I can still see it. I’m so glad I wrote it down.

Earlier a memory was etched into my brain that I will cherish forever. We had just walked outside and we headed to the open goat field so the dogs could run when an impromptu shower burst forth from the clouds pouring giant size rain drops upon our heads.

The girls darted into the barn where they were preparing to milk and I huddled under a leafy tree for cover.
The five boys had been running in the field and at first stood still as they taunted the rain, daring it to try harder. The rain accepted their challenge and they began to whoop and holler and yell and jump in the air and RUN!!

They burst upon the scene with the bright green grass and blue sky as their background. They were each wearing vibrant colored shirts of orange, yellow, red, purple and green.

What I beheld looked as if a rainbow had burst into boys! My own heart neatly burst with love, pride and thankfulness as I considered how empty and aching my arms had once been.

Now, by God’s grace and the miracle of adoption my heart, life, home and arms are full. As a matter of fact, my cup is overflowing and I’m sipping from my saucer.

He gives the childless woman a family, making her a happy mother. Praise the Lord ! (Psalms 113:9 NLT)

20130621-153507.jpg

Leave a Reply

