Beauty Counts

Early morning will almost always find me with a good cup of coffee and a few excellent books in addition to my Bible for personal devotion time. It is how I start my day. It is how I survive my day.

Two of my favorites to read and glean from are Oswald Chambers and C.S. Lewis. I’ve read their writings for so long that I actually feel akin to them. Perhaps spiritually they are like wise great uncles who imparts bits and pieces into your life as you grow. They’ve certainly given me many thoughts to think.

So, today I was reading a portion of a letter that C.S. Lewis wrote concerning religious practices, their purpose and necessity. One thing he mentioned was the beauty. Religious practices can add beauty to our faith. (My words, not his). As I pondered what he had written, I made a note in the margin. ‘Beauty Counts’ was my note. And it does.

There is an idiom that says ‘Beauty is in the eye of the beholder’. While I understand the meaning behind the words, I don’t quite agree. You see, I have gone to great lengths to teach my children that beautiful is still beautiful whether it is properly recognized or cherished.

Take my girls. For the first 6&7 years of their life they were not beheld as beautiful by those around them. Those people were blind to their beauty. It wasn’t that the beauty did not exist. It was that the beholders could not (or chose not) to see it.

Perhaps a better phrase would be, “Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder if the beholder is not blind to beauty.”

So, how does one become blind to beauty? How could so many people fail to behold the beauty that is right before them? Poor choices, broken thinking, warped perspectives, spiritual deprivation.

As for me, my attitude changes how I see everything. An attitude of gratitude gives me an insight into true beauty. With that thought in mind and the Scripture below to consider, I am so thankful for the beautiful inheritance I have received. Beauty counts. Indeed.

The lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; indeed, I have a beautiful inheritance. (Psalms 16:6 ESV)

20130618-080908.jpg

2 thoughts on “Beauty Counts”

  1. It’s hard to believe that people can look at any child and not see the beauty in them. I think it’s that ‘attitude of gratitude’ that makes this such a fallen world. People are so unhappy with what they have and want what everyone else has. It’s a challenge for me as well not to slip into that space. Your daughters are beautiful! I love their smiles! And you are blessed with very handsome sons as well. Lucky mama!

Leave a Reply

