First Response

As a mom I sometimes say to my children, “I said no and no means no.” As years have passed and I have become a more matured and experienced Mom I usually reply thus. “If you press me for an answer I will have to give you a no. If you will give me time to consider it, I may give you a different answer.”

As a wife, a particularly intense and sometimes hyper wife who is full of dreams and plans and ideas, I have been a challenge to be married to (but never boring). Henry soon developed an initial response to whatever I was suggesting, no matter what it was. “No”. I knew he was really asking for time to think and so now, when I have my newest grand scheme to present to him I always say this. “I don’t want an answer now, I want you to consider this, maybe sleep on it.”

As a Christian and disciple of Jesus, I sometimes find myself aptly described in the following passage from Scripture. Jesus was teaching about obedience.

“But what do you think about this? A man with two sons told the older boy, ‘Son, go out and work in the vineyard today.’ The son answered, ‘No, I won’t go,’ but later he changed his mind and went anyway. Then the father told the other son, ‘You go,’ and he said, ‘Yes, sir, I will.’ But he didn’t go. (Matthew 21:28-30 NLT)

There are those times when my first response is so eager and with a sincere heart I proclaim, “Yes, Lord!” Yet, I have found myself to often be a dynamic starter and a neglectful finisher.

There are other times when my first response is influenced by weariness, frustration and doubt. That’s when I find myself mumbling, “No, no, no!” Thankfully, my Father knows me and just as I grew to understand what a ‘no’ from my beloved means, He knows I need time to pray and think.

Be encouraged.

If there was a time that The Lord asked you to join Him in a work, gave you a seemingly impossible dream or set before you something that needed doing and your first response was ‘no’, you can change your mind! You can begin again this very day.

If there was a time when you answered ‘yes’ but didn’t complete the task. You can begin again this very day and finish what was started. His mercies truly are new every morning.

20130617-095643.jpg

Leave a Reply

