Go, Shop, Buy

Yesterday I loaded all seven, five sons and two daughters, into our Honda Pilot and we went shopping for Father’s Day. As you might well surmise, I am a brave woman. Very brave (or perhaps a glutton for punishment).

We were out for hours and hours. It was a hot day. We did not find everything we needed and once I finally got home, I ordered online with free delivery. I may never leave the house again. Shopping just isn’t what it’s cracked up to be.

This experience started my thinker to thinking, as is normal for me. My thoughts can go many directions at once and soon I was considering the correlation between shopping and dating. Then I was contemplating the wisdom of well stocked pantries and planning ahead. After all, being prepared means less shopping and less shopping is a very good thing. That thought process brought me to this passage of Scripture.

“But the others replied, ‘We don’t have enough for all of us. Go to a shop and buy some for yourselves.’ (Matthew 25:9 NLT)

If you aren’t familiar with the passage this verse came from, you should check it out. It’s the parable of the wise and foolish virgins. They were all suppose to be ready, prepared, waiting for the call. Some were. Some weren’t. When those who weren’t asked for help, they got that reply – go, shop, buy – for yourselves.

We may conclude that it was stingy on the refusers part, but, looking more closely, I see wisdom instead of stinginess. They all knew what was required, they all had the same opportunity, they made different choices. Their choices had consequences.

What choices will you make today? How can you make sure that at the very moment you need strength and encouragement and guidance your lamp isn’t running low on oil? Think ahead. Strategize. Consider the consequences.

20130614-075906.jpg

Leave a Reply

