Landscaped by God

Weeks ago I bought the supplies necessary to have a painting activity with my five youngest children. You might conclude that it is lovely that I am willing to share my talent and teach others. The problem with that line of thought is I am not an artist myself and have attended one group painting experience. One and one only.

However, that one class did inspire me to want to share the experience with my youngest five as we homeschool through the summer months. They were very excited about the prospect. So was I. I eagerly purchased a canvas for each of us and an assortment of acrylic paints plus, a collection of brushes.

Busy days have delayed our art project attempt and as I compiled a list of ‘things that needing doing’ this morning, I decided today might be the day or perhaps tomorrow. Surely we could do it sometime this week. Surely.

That’s when it hit me. How on earth did I think I could teach them to do what I don’t know how to do myself. The googling began in earnest. Eventually I came across this YouTube.

A landscape. A simple landscape. Surely that was a good starting point. Suddenly my wheels were turning. This landscape would become the focus of all our summer homeschool activities. It could be the backdrop for stories and poems and songs and go way beyond the painting project. Creativity unleashed! By leaving out the details we would open up a world of learning.

Then, as is often the case my thoughts turned towards The Lord and I contemplated how the Master Artist, who is the original creative genius, had taken the blank canvas of my life and painted a beautiful landscape. He then allowed me to fill in the details with my choices, my flavor, my own creativity.

When I searched for the word landscape in scripture and came across this Message wording, I just smiled all over. The prayer I breathed out came as naturally as the vibrant colors being stroked upon a blank canvas. This is what I want. This is what I desire. Oh, to be landscaped with the Word by God and see my life become a salvation-garden. I can’t imagine any painting more intriguing.

“In simple humility, let our gardener, God, landscape you with the Word, making a salvation-garden of your life.”(James 1:21 MSG)

4 thoughts on “Landscaped by God”

Leave a Reply

