Measure of Success

I attended my very first writer’s convention this weekend. http://www.scwconference.com/SCWConference.com/Southern_Christian_Writers_Conference.html

The first thing I must say concerning this conference is, “I will never be the same again.” I was changed, altered, made different. My eyes were opened to, as overly dramatic as this may sound, a new world. This leads to the second thing I would say concerning the conference. “I never knew how much I didn’t know.” As another attendee commented, I didn’t even know what questions to ask.

One of the keynote addresses was delivered by Angela Hunt. http://www.angelahuntbooks.com/

One of the many things she talked about was the measure of success. I gleaned so much as she spoke. In order to be a successful writer, I don’t have to stop being everything else. As a Christian Writer I am foremost a Christian. That simply means there is only one measure of success. Have I been faithful to attend to the task put before me now? Right now.

If we get so caught up in the way we are to do whatever we feel God has led us to do, we may easily forget the why we are to do whatever we feel God has led us to do. While it is understandable for a writer to want to be published and become successful, just as any other person pursuing a dream, we must be cautious in how we measure success and who gets the credit.

We must make the effort, take the time, expend the energy and walk through the open doors. But, never forget it is The Lord who gives you the courage, opens the doors and gives you the strength to walk through them.

‘When you become successful, don’t say, “I’m rich, and I’ve earned it all myself.” Instead, remember that the Lord your God gives you the strength to make a living. That’s how he keeps the promise he made to your ancestors.’ Deuteronomy 8:17, 18

2 thoughts on “Measure of Success”

Leave a Reply

