Deeper Waters

Yesterday I started this blog. In two days I attend my first writer’s conference. I definitely feel like I’m abandoning the safe, shallow waters and leaving what is comfortable and familiar far behind.

Practically speaking it would make more sense to stay right where I am, doing what I’m already doing. It’s not like I’m not busy, occupied and knee deep in many worthwhile activities. And besides, I’ve tried before to focus on my writing.

However, one thing I have learned as a disciple of Christ, as His student and follower. He seldom leaves us where we are. He will often ask us to launch into deeper waters. He may even insist you try again, one more time.

‘When he had finished speaking, he said to Simon, “Now go out where it is deeper, and let down your nets to catch some fish.”’ (Luke 5:4 NLT)

This wasn’t Simon’s first time in a boat. He was a skilled fisherman. And yet, he was willing to heed the words of Jesus.

“Master,” Simon replied, “we worked hard all last night and didn’t catch a thing. But if you say so, I’ll let the nets down again.” (Luke 5:5 NLT)

If you say so. I can relate to this response. That’s about where I am this morning. “If you say so Lord.” Submission. Admission. Perhaps, just perhaps, the God of this universe can see something I can’t see. The results?

“And this time their nets were so full of fish they began to tear!” (Luke 5:6 NLT)

Perhaps you’re weary from trying and seeing little fruit from your labor. Perhaps you have tried before without success. Perhaps your pretty confident in your own abilities.

I’m not sure where you stand, but, as for me, I’m taking off my waders, getting in the boat and heading to deep waters. I’m ready to be awestruck!

For he was awestruck by the number of fish they had caught, as were the others with him. (Luke 5:9 NLT)

Leave a Reply

